Statistics

Trần Thiên Phước
(liveforadream)

Thành viên danh dự
Last year a small accounting firm paid each of its five clerks $22,000, 2 junior accountants $50,000, and the firm's owner $270,000.

On its advertisement for recruitment: ......clerks, accountants wanted....the salary average is $60,000......

(this has been statistically proven correct)

I brought up this topic like almost a year ago, upon the occassion of taking statistics. Now, after a year of studying it plus reading some books about it and I found it extremely interesting and can't help but to share it to you. (Foreword: I'm not really an expert, so if there is anything wrong, please correct me)

It is a new field (relatively), one concentration of it is the study of number. Basically what they do to collect data, then people analyze that data to give an answer to something. it sounds alright because there is a saying that: " people may lie but number doesn't." However when it comes across politics (especially) or some other fields, people could make number lie, through statistics.

Polls, the most used statistics in politics. CNN, FOX conduct polls, political institutions conduct polls. What's the matter of these polls?

For one thing, to make number does not lie, we must collect data impartially. And to collect data impartially it requires certain conditions such as Simple random Sample or unambiguous and unmisleading questions etc

For example, CNN conduct a polls about president Bush with a question: "Do you agree with the direction president Bush leads this country to?" by emailing them.

What is wrong with this poll?

The first thing wrong about this poll is that the question is misleading. Why it is misleading? Because it is ambiguous, "the direction president Bush leads this country to?" in immigration policy, or national defense, or economy, or enforcing the law?